Continents of the World

The world is made up of 6 continents, namely:

  • Asia
  • America (divided into: North America, Central America,and South America)
  • Africa
  • Antarctica
  • Europe
  • Oceania

Oceans of the World

Five oceans are part of the world map, namely:

  • Pacific Ocean
  • Atlantic Ocean
  • Indian Ocean
  • Arctic Glacial Ocean
  • Antarctic Glacial Ocean

Countries of the World

According to the United Nations (UN), the world is made up of 193 countries. As such, it does not recognize Taiwan, the Vatican and Palestine as “observer states”. Thus, to be considered a country, it has to unite characteristics such as national sovereignty, well-defined borders and even a currency.

However, there are all nations in the world that present other numbers in relation to the number of countries that exist in the world. The International Olympic Committee establishes 206 countries, and FIFA 209. Check out the countries of each continent:

  • Asia has 47 countries and 3 territories of national sovereignty
  • America has 35 countries and 20 territories of national sovereignty.
  • Africa has 54 countries and 4 territories of national sovereignty
  • Europe has 43 countries and 10 territories of national sovereignty.
  • Oceania has 14 countries and 11 territories of national sovereignty.

Note: Despite being considered a continent, Antarctica does not contain any countries.

  • Nuclear Power in Finland Nuclear Power in Finland - Finland has two nuclear power plants in operation with a total output of 2 700 MWe. The share of nuclear power in Finnish power generation is around 30 per cent. A new nuclear reactor is under construction, which is expected...
    Read more
  • Venezuela Population and Language Venezuela Population and Language - Most Venezuelans count as white or of mixed origin, from indigenous peoples, Europeans and Africans. The small minority of indigenous people consists of about 30 groups. Venezuela has long been an immigrant country but during the crisis of recent years...
    Read more
  • Uruguay Population and Language Uruguay Population and Language - Uruguay, together with neighboring Argentina, has the most uniform white population in South America. Population growth is low and the country has a relatively high proportion of the elderly. In a 2011 census where residents were free to identify with...
    Read more
  • United States Population and Language United States Population and Language - In the immigrant country, people live from all corners of the world. In recent decades, the new residents have mainly come from Latin America and Asia. The immigrant population, which also has high birth rates, is the main reason why...
    Read more
  • Trinidad and Tobago Population and Language Trinidad and Tobago Population and Language - Trinidad and Tobago have the most mixed population in the Caribbean. The residents mainly originate in India, Africa and Europe. Of the country’s indigenous people, today there is only a small waste. About one-third of the population is of African...
    Read more
  • St Vincent Population and Language St. Vincent Population and Language - Nine out of ten residents live on the main island of Saint Vincent, while the rest of the population is found on the seven inhabited islands of the Grenadines. The majority of the population are descendants of African slaves. The...
    Read more
  • St Lucia Population and Language St. Lucia Population and Language - Almost the entire population of Saint Lucia are descendants of African slaves. Two out of five residents live in the capital Castries and its environs. The indigenous people of the Caribbean who lived on the island when Europeans arrived (see...
    Read more
  • St Kitts Population and Language St. Kitts Population and Language - A large majority of the residents of Saint Kitts and Nevis are descended from African slaves. About a tenth of the population has a mixed white and black background. The white minority of European origin comprises around 1,000 people. About...
    Read more
  • Peru Population and Language Peru Population and Language - Peru’s original residents fell sharply in numbers during and after the Spanish conquest in the 16th century. Today, just over a quarter of Peruvians identify themselves as belonging to an indigenous people, of which Quechua is by far the most....
    Read more
  • Paraguay Population and Language Paraguay Population and Language - The population is concentrated in the eastern part of Paraguay. In the Chaco area west of the Paraguay River, only a few percent of residents live. The population is unusually uniform to be in Latin America: around 95 percent have...
    Read more